12.2.2014 New Releases

by admin at 4:22 pm


It is December! It is the end of the year and the December 2nd release date was the last one for SC Distribution in the year 2014. We had an amazingly curated Songs: Ohia deluxe reissue from Secretly Canadian of the album ‘Didn’t It Rain’ including original demos from Jason Molina. Lord RAJA off of the ghostly roster brings us a fresh album, A Constant Moth. RVNG INTL. continues their reissue series with an amazing collection featuring unreleased recordings from the 70’s electronic avant-garde artist Ariel Kalma. Along similar paths, Numero Group presents the new age minimalist piano composer Jordan De La Sierra’s Gymnosphere: Song of the Rose in a recreated format. Oneida drummer Kid Millions teams up with saxophonist Jim Sauter to create Fountain,featuring hypnotic tonal harmonics and torrential rhythms. We also see releases from Beacon, Eric Copeland, Audacity & The Coathangers. Check out some of the reviews, videos and audio from these December releases.

Songs: Ohia Didn’t It Rain (Deluxe Reissue) Pitchfork Best New Reissue Review

Ariel Kalma An Evolutionary Music (Original Recordings: 1972 – 1979) Pitchfork Review


11.11.14 New Releases

by admin at 9:11 pm

Happy November,

November welcomed our home base of Bloomington, Indiana with a white snow blanket yesterday. This is definitely an indication that the end of the year is near. As it is almost the end of 2014, we reach the November 11th release date. It is our last ‘Huge’ release date of the year. We will have one more at the beginning of December though, so keep your eyes peeled. But for now let us focus on some of the great material that went out of our doors and into your local record stores this week.

The label Secretly Canadian brings us the ‘Turning’ CD+DVD from Antony and the Johnsons featuring live recordings and a documentary. Sacred Bones unleashed a side project from The Men, Dream Police, as well as the latest album from Cult of Youth which received much praise. Our first release with our latest label addition, Quite Scientific, brings us Frontier Ruckus ‘Sitcom Afterlife’. We see a new LP from Chicago based rapper Serengeti on Joyful Noise Recordings. Plus new music from all of the following artists: Celestial Shore, Mazes, Bedhead, Contact, Mark McGuire, Nevermores, Jorn Aleskjaer, Yonatan Gat, Balmorhea, FF, Homeshake and Megabog.

We also distributed two compilations. Ghostly International brought us the Hohokum soundtrack which brings together music from their artist roster. And, K Records presents to us a Hip-Hop compilation made entirely from sampled K catalog.

Check out some of the highlights from this release date below:

Cult of Youth Final Days Pitchfork Review

Frontier Ruckus Sitcom Afterlife AllMusic Review

Serengeti Kenny Dennis III Spin Album of the Week

Contact Synthtracks Decibel Playlist

Mazes Wooden Aquarium NME Review

Bedhead 1992-1998 Pitchfork Best New Music Review


10.28.2014 New Releases // Press + Video

by admin at 5:02 pm

Hi all,

Once again the month of October has brought us another huge release date with over 20 new releases. We hear the harmonies of sisters Lily & Madeleine, the new Twilight Sad LP, TWO new MONO records and much much more. I’ll share some highlights with you all from this October release date. Cheers!

Slim Twig A Hound at the Hem Exclaim Review

Mysteries New Age Music is Here The Guardian’s New Band of the Week

Chris Forsyth & The Solar Motel Band Intensity Ghost Aquarium Drunkard Review

The Shivas You Know What To Do Impact Review